The Metropolitan Building originally housed jewelers and watchmakers in the early 1920’s. It was one of the earliest forms of what became the modern day mall. In its prime, the experience and appearance of the building needed to reflect the beauty of the jewelry and watches being created within its walls. The main lobby shined with many elements of the medieval style including plaster shield medallions, stenciled wood ceiling beams, and hanging chandeliers. Glass showcases, to display the craftwork, spanned the main lobby. It fell into disrepair and eventually closed its doors in the late 1970’s, full of radiation; a leftover from the watchmaking paint.  
 
Destined for demolition it was eventually purchased with the hope of renovation. After radiation abatement, it has found new hope as an extended-stay hotel. Because of the radiation, most of the buildings original materials were removed. The main lobby and wood storefronts along the second-floor corridor are two of the only areas that still remain mostly intact, although suffering from neglect. What remains of the original lobby and second floor will be repaired and restored to its original beauty including marble floors and walls, decorative plaster borders, and medallions. The second-floor wood storefronts will receive new glass and be used for meeting rooms.

Many historic elements of abandoned Detroit buildings have gone missing including decorative wood ceiling brackets from the main lobby of the Metropolitan. Due to a lack of historic interior photos, there was little hope of knowing what they looked like. Through luck, the owners of the building were able to find and acquire two of the original brackets and with these, QEA will be able to create replications to replace all of the missing brackets. Where other elements are missing new ones will be designed with sensitivity to the original time period and design.