The transformation of the historic Lion Brothers building in southwest Baltimore has given new life to a long-abandoned industrial structure in the rapidly revitalizing Hollins Market neighborhood, adjacent to the University of Maryland BioPark.
Originally built in 1885 as a livery stable, the building was occupied for many years by the Lion Brothers embroidery company, with several additions constructed throughout the 20th century. Quinn Evans Architects oversaw an exterior restoration as well as the creation of a modern workspace that retains the building’s industrial character.
Misaligned floors and multiple interventions from a variety of architectural eras challenged the design team to create a cohesive, efficient plan allowing for multiple tenants and uses. The interior features a new central core with an open stair, exposed brick walls and ductwork, refinished concrete and wood floors, and the original sliding, steel-clad fire doors. Vibrant colors and environmental graphics enliven the tenant spaces, inspired by the terracotta medallions along the exterior that depict embroidered patches once made in the factory. The extensive use of glass throughout the interior creates transparency and allows for ample natural light within the office and studio spaces. The building offers a variety of workplace environments, including traditional office, open concept, and cutting-edge co-working spaces.