A long-abandoned industrial structure stood vacant in the rapidly changing Hollins Market neighborhood. Overcoming misaligned floors and numerous renovations, Quinn Evans transformed the historic property into a modern workspace that retained the building’s industrial character and revitalized the community. The exterior restoration, coupled with an interior renovation, added new life to the three-story building. Previously boarded-up industrial steel windows were restored and the extensive use of glass throughout the interior created transparency that allows for ample natural light to provide a comfortable environment for tenants. The Lion Brothers building maintains an engaging presence with exterior lighting illuminating the structure at night, making it visible throughout the community and offering a guiding light for this newly-invigorated neighborhood.
Built in 1885, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building initially served as a livery stable and was later occupied by the Lion Brothers embroidery company. Offering a variety of workplace environments, tenants can explore and enjoy traditional office, open concept, and cutting-edge co-working spaces. The Lion Brothers building is fully leased and serves as a home to a dynamic mix of tenants, including programs at the University of Maryland, Enterprise Homes, and several other businesses and organizations. The revamped building featured new MEP systems, a new central core with an open stair, exposed brick walls and ductwork, refinished concrete and wood floors, original sliding, and steel-clad fire doors. Vibrant colors and environmental graphics enlivened the tenant spaces, inspired by the terracotta medallions along the exterior depicting embroidered patches once made in the factory.