Anath Ranon and Leora Mirvish Elevated to AIA College of Fellows

Kristina von Tish, CPSM, LEED Green Associate
Kristina von Tish
CPSM, LEED Green Associate
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Fellowship recognizes AIA members who have made significant contributions to the profession and society and who exemplify architectural excellence.

Two Quinn Evans principals recognized for advancing the profession of architecture

Anath Ranon, FAIA, LEED AP BD+C, and Leora Mirvish, FAIA, LEED AP BD+C, both principals at Quinn Evans, have been elevated to the American Institute of Architects’ (AIA’s) College of Fellows. Fellowship recognizes AIA members who have made significant contributions to the profession and society and who exemplify architectural excellence. Only 3% of AIA members have this distinction.  

A headshot of Anath Ranon.


Anath was nominated to fellowship for her expertise in historic preservation and her dedication to empowering communities to revive neglected historic resources. Her work embraces the spectrum of historic buildings, from acknowledged masterpieces like the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, designed by noted 19th-century architect Benjamin Latrobe, to humbler but no less vital places like the Lion Brothers Building and the Packing House. She managed the transformation of the former American Brewery into the headquarters for a social services nonprofit, which won a prestigious National Preservation Award from the National Trust for Historic Preservation.  

Anath joined Quinn Evans in 2005 and has been a principal since 2017. Active in historic preservation organizations, Anath founded AIA Baltimore’s Historic Resources Committee and led the committee for its first eight years. She served on the Baltimore Commission for Historical and Architectural Preservation (CHAP) for 12 years. She currently serves on the board of the Evergreen House Foundation. She is a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Preservation Maryland, Baltimore Heritage, and CREW Baltimore.  

A headshot of Leora Mirvish.


Leora was nominated for her incorporation of universal design principles into landmark public buildings. Her work has created seamless experiences for people with disabilities at high-profile places like the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, where she had a hand in renovating the four largest theaters—most recently guiding the renewal of the Terrace Theater. Equally known for technical innovation, Leora led all aspects of interior architecture for the modernization of the 687,000-sf National Air and Space Museum, including the integration of state-of-the art new building systems. She also served as project manager for quality control for the complex renovation and expansion of the National Academy of Sciences.  

Leora joined Quinn Evans in 1992 and has been a principal since 2013. She has presented widely on designing for sustainability, accessibility, and technical systems in visitor-focused facilities, including sessions at national conferences for the American Alliance of Museums, League of Historic American Theaters, and Leadership Exchange in Arts and Disability. She is a member of the US Green Building Council and the League of Historic American Theaters.  


Leora and Anath join 13 other Quinn Evans professionals who have been named fellows of the AIA since the firm’s founding. A commitment to AIA involvement and leadership has been integral to Quinn Evans’ mission and culture since its establishment in 1984. Both of the firm’s founders, Michael Quinn, FAIA, and David Evans, FAIA, were honored with fellowship. Carl Elefante, FAIA, FAPT, LEED AP, principal emeritus, is a fellow and served as the AIA’s 94th president from 2017-2018.  

In addition to Anath and Leora, current AIA Fellows at Quinn Evans are firm president Alyson Steele, FAIA, LEED AP; Jeffrey Lee, FAIA; Larry Barr, FAIA, Fitewl Amb.; Ryan McEnroe, FAIA, ASLA, LEED AP, LFA; Saundra Little, FAIA, LEED AP; Steven Spurlock, FAIA, LEED AP; and Tom Jester, FAIA, FAPT, LEED AP.

Leora and Anath will be presented with medals commemorating their fellowship in June at a formal investiture ceremony during AIA24, the AIA’s national conference—where Quinn Evans will also be officially presented with the Architecture Firm Award.

Explore More